Why is it so hard to ask for help?

I need a lot of help.  With so many things.  Why is it so hard to ask?  Why is there shame in asking for help, in admitting you need it?

I don’t know.  I know that Jamie’s wish prompt for this week had me stumped.  So here it is, the biggest, ugliest thing I have – the thing that needs the most help, right today:

I am wishing for better words.  I need to learn how to communicate lovingly.    I need to dig under all the caught-in-the-moment emotions and find my truth.  Then I need to step above my anger and my hurt and share the truths hidden amongst them.

And I need help knowing when it’s my turn to shut up and listen.

Actually, that would be a good place to start.

I am wishing for help to listen well, and help to  share my truth with love.

5 responses to “Why is it so hard to ask for help?

  1. As kazari wishes, so I wish for her also.

    Such an honest, eloquent wish. May you receive the words, and the listening.

    Merry Writings

  2. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  3. as kazari wishes for herself, i wish for her as well

    {deep breathing helps me whenever I need to stop and think about what I really want to say}

  4. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish also.

    May you have the wisdom to know when. 🙂

  5. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I feel also.

    I feel like we took a deep breath together at the end of that post. Here’s to finding a great place to start.

Leave a comment