Reverb10: Waking up to okay

December 24 Prompt – Everything’s OK

What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

(Author: Kate Inglis)

I woke up.  I woke up by myself, to light streaming in the window.  It was early morning, but not the crack of dawn, and I was startled to realise I had woken up naturally.  There wasn’t a sound from the baby.  I did the automatic arithmetic in my head – how many hours had he slept? – but realised he hadn’t squawked all night.

Sudden jubilation was replaced by an equally sudden panic – was something was wrong?  Just in time to quell my fears, he grumbled and stirred.  I got out of bed  with a big smile on my face.

We didn’t need any help to get through our day, or our nights.

We were both okay, and in that moment I knew it completely.

One response to “Reverb10: Waking up to okay

  1. wow…..exactly. And, perhaps the absence of any bad dreams? It was on my part. Of course, it was a time of feeling a profound loss of the last 23 years…seems like so long ago now…in fact, it was…thought the pain would always be there: it won’t. Just the memory of the pain, if that makes sense.

    I looked at my youngest in the eyes…he still smiled, everything was going to be okay…. That, and discovering how strong you really are and can be…just keeps making you stronger and stronger…young lady.

    But you don’t need me to tell you that.

Leave a Reply

