Reverb10: Soul Food

December 26 – Soul Food

What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul?

(Author: Elise Marie Collins)

I started this post three times – the first time I stopped to make iced tea for my mum, and I just finished making a potato salad for the New Year’s barbecue at my sister’s house.

All food is soul food when you share it with those you love.

But sometimes the food you eat by yourself is just as nourishing.

I’m going to tell you about one of my guilty pleasures.  On Sundays, the baby has adventures with his father.  I get to do whatever I want.  Sometimes I go to the National Library to write.  Their cafe is awesome.  I can sit up against the thick, juicy stained-glass windows.  I drink coffee, watch the people and read whatever quirky selection is in the magazine rack.  Sometimes I write.

Once, I ordered banana bread.  It was nearly lunch, and I only wanted a snack.  When it arrived at my table, I was engrossed in an article about The Magic Pudding.  I looked up to see an enormous plate – two fat slices of banana bread, marscapone, and sticky date sauce.  I almost laughed with delight!  My snack had turned out to be a decadent dessert-for-lunch.

Joy.

Soul food for one.

2 responses to “Reverb10: Soul Food

  1. Delight in treatful solitude. Joy.

  2. i have visited the cafe you speak of and loved the ambience
    didn’t order the banana bread though, but have a funky cafe in Melb that serves up something similar

    a magic pudding indeed!

Leave a Reply

