Reverb10: Ordinary Joy

December 27 – Ordinary Joy

Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year?

(Author: Brené Brown)

Airports make me cry. It doesn’t matter if I’m picking somebody up, dropping them off, or travelling myself. I inherited this trait from my mother.

In June and July I spent a lot of time in airports.  I flew back to my family, and then, because I needed her, my Mum came to visit me.

I paced in the airport arrivals area, hugging the baby to me, completely wired with anticipation.

The arrivals board flashed landed and I watched the top of the escalator intently, willing for the first glimpse of her.  She finally appeared behind a bunch of enormous business men, and right on cue I burst into tears.  By the time she reached me, we were both crying, and laughing because we were crying and then finally we hugged.

We must have made quite a scene, because I saw other people watching us, and every time someone else caught my eye they smiled or laughed, too.

Airports are full of ordinary joy.

2 responses to “Reverb10: Ordinary Joy

  1. ❤♫❤♫❤.•*¨`*•..¸ ♥☼♥¸.•*¨`*•.♫❤♫❤♫❤
    ╔═════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ═════════╗
    ೋ ❤❤❤~~HAPPY NEW YEAR~~❤❤❤ ೋ
    ╚═════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ═════════╝
    ❤♫❤♫❤.•*¨`*•..¸ ♥☼♥ ¸.•*¨`*•.♫❤♫❤♫❤

  2. oh this made me cry
    reading this after todays news that showed video of an arrivals area just hit by a bomber…
    having recently travelled myself, it brought home to me how lucky we are when we have an ‘ordinary’ flight, an ‘ordinary’ arrival, truly ordinary joy

Leave a Reply

