Reverb10: Appreciation

December 14 – Appreciate

What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

(Author: Victoria Klein)

I tend to hug my hurts inward, and keep my sadness away from those around me.  This helps me keep it together, but it’s lonely.

This year was so hard, and the things I did were so big, that I couldn’t always keep it together.  I had to reach out, ask for help and lean on my friends.

I was ashamed.

But, what I’ve learned, and what I’ve learned to appreciate, is other people.  People who are fiercely loyal.  People who love me when I’m a tearful wreck.   People who want good things for me, even when I’m spewing negativity all over their kitchen.   People who will build me up and feed me and remind me that I’m a good person, too.

This has been a hard year, but in a way it’s been worth it  just to see how much better my friendships are when I’ve asked for help.

So consider this a big thank you to all my friends, near and far.  Everyone who listened to my story, over and over.  Everyone who watched me agonize over dumb decisions.  Everyone who shared a coffee or a meal or a piece of cake.  You know who you are.

You made my year.

One response to “Reverb10: Appreciation

  1. Pingback: Reverb10: With a little help | On the end of my rope

Leave a Reply

