Reverb 10: Body integration? Just add rocks.

December 12 – Body Integration

This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present?

(Author: Patrick Reynolds)

If you know me in real life, this statement will probably have you rolling around in stitches:

I am not a natural athlete.

Okay, finished laughing?  For those of you haven’t met me in person, my person is very short (just 5ft), squidgy in the middle and a bit of a wimp.

But I love climbing.  I love it because it’s an excuse to go bush.  I love it because it makes me feel strong.

For me, climbing is the definition of body integration.  My mind is fully engaged figuring out my next move.  I’m aware of how my hands feel, the strength in my fingers and stability in my toes.  When it’s a hard climb, there’s a background buzz of adrenalin.  When it’s an easy climb, there’s the joy of pulling through each move with confidence, like I own it.

There has not been enough climbing this year.  I’m going to fix that.

Leave a Reply

