Reverb10: Community

December 7 – Community

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

(Author: Cali Harris)

Online I have found a community of my heart in the Goddess Guidebook Circle.  Creativity, spirituality and sparkles in one gorgeous package – I’ve found some wonderful women and read some really, really big stories.

Offline, my book club has become a wonderful circle of wise women.  We meet up in cafes and discuss the books for all of ten minutes before moving on to the important stuff like new loves, old jobs and crazy happenings.  Because there’s always something crazy going on in our lives.

One of my big lessons this year was reaching out.  When you only know somebody through mother’s group or a writing class, it can be hard to talk about the big things going on in your life.  I’m Cancerian, and I tend to hug my hurts to myself, but this year I learnt how to share them and lean on my friends.  Asking for help has really built a community for me, where offering help never quite bridged the gap.

Leave a Reply

