Reverb10: A moment

December 3 – Moment.

Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

(Author: Ali Edwards)

I had bare feet.  I had bare feet, with grass stains, and chalk marks on my clothes.  I held the baby, all rugged up because when the sun ducked behind the clouds it was chilly, but right then the sun was out and on us and it was warm.  I had moved the picnic blanket into a grassy hollow, out of the breeze but not in the shade and we were as cosy as we could be in that brave, open landscape.

There’s no trees on Castle Hill, just a big smooth grassy hill with Moomin shaped rocks poking up.  There is grass everywhere and the clay beneath is soft and gentle.  It smells like horse territory, and that day there was a cold-water autumn smell in the air, even in the warm.

The baby had been fussy, and I had been worried about too much sun, too much cold, not enough shelter… and now he was hungry.  So we sat on the blanket, and I fed him, skin to skin.

The rock is all hollows and folds that swallow the sound and there’s no echoes.  We could hear our friends climbing but they sounded much further off.  As the baby nuzzled in and found his meal all my worries fell away.  This was my baby, and I could feed him anywhere, and I could care for him anywhere, and we were in this amazing place with bare feet on the ground, and solitude, and friends near by, and life could never be any better than this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

