Reverb10: Writing

December 2Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

Lets see… I wake up when the baby wakes up, then we have breakfast.  Then I have a quick shower while he plays on the bathroom floor (usually attempting to climb in with me).  Then we play, go for a walk and then he naps.

When he wakes up we might go on an adventure (the library! the supermarket!) but it’s gotta be quick so we can have lunch.  Then more playing, more adventures and another nap.  Usually during this nap time I get dinner organised.  When he wakes up we go play in the garden.  I may attempt to hang out the washing.  (But I have to be quick because his favourite game is all about throwing the wet clothes out of the basket and on to the ground)

Then dinner and bathtime and books and breastfeeding and bed.

So I write during naps and after he’s asleep at night, and in reading this prompt I think “What does he want me to eliminate? My life?  My baby?”

I’m not really keen to eliminate either.

Because if I didn’t live my life, what would I have to write about?  Inspiration comes watching magpies on our walks, or shelling broad beans on the kitchen floor with the baby.  It comes with overheard conversation in the supermarket, and the latest best sellers at the library.  I don’t do these things because of my writing, I do them because I love them, or the things they help me do, or the people I do them with.

I would happily eliminate anything that didn’t contribute to my life – but not for the sake of my writing.

Leave a Reply

