Haves and have-nots

Jamie’s wish prompt this week is ‘What do you wish to have?’  and I’m finding it a little tricky to answer.

I have everything I need, and almost anything I could want.

I have a home – and not just a house, but a house with a veggie garden and a study for me and a shed for Ryan.

I have a baby – and not just any baby!  A happy, healthy, adorable baby that grins at himself in the mirror just like his father does.

And I have a husband who loves us both, who holds this family together with both hands.

Today is Ryan’s birthday, and I’m finding this amazing – this will be the tenth year that I’ve struggled to find him the right present.  Ten years is a wonderful thing to have.  Even if it’s ten years of not-so-memorable birthday presents.

If I’m a piglet, then Ryan is a Tigger – always off on an adventure, looking for the next thing to do.  He is the best person to have on your side when you dream big.  He’s also the first person to offer to help you move house, build a climbing wall, or, well, just about anything.  If there is adventure to be had, rock to climb or someone to help, he’ll be there.

On top of being an awesome partner-in-adventure, I’m falling in love with him all over again, watching him love the baby.  I’m not sure he believes me, when I tell him how amazing and wonderful it is to see him play with the baby, or rock him to sleep.

The problem, I guess, is that we aren’t ‘things’ people.  This makes it hard to wish for stuff, as well as to buy presents.

But I wish I had a better birthday present for Ryan.

20 responses to “Haves and have-nots

  1. What a lovely wish.

    As you wish for yourself I so lovingly wish this for you also.

    Happy birthday Ryan.

  2. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also. It sure sounds like you – you are the best present for Ryan. Happy Birthday Ryan.

  3. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

    Oh I so hear you! Presents give me hives, finding the right thing is such a challenge.

  4. What a wonderful post. You, Ryan and the baby are so fortunate and blessed. I have a strong feeling you and the baby are all the presents Ryan wants or needs. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  5. As you wish so I wish for you!

  6. as kazari wishes for herself, so i wish for her also.

  7. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.
    I hear you, I am always racking my brain for a present for my husband. It seems like you guys already have the best gifts…each other…corny huh!

  8. as kazari wishes for herself, so i wish for her also. may the perfect birthday present come to you to give to your sweet husband.

  9. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.
    Oh oh oh I just loved your post..what a joy you are…I can just feel you beaming from here!! May you find the most amazingly wonderful gift for you dear other half Ryan!!
    Namaste, Sarah

  10. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  11. What a wonderful, positive perspective! It made me happy just reading it. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  12. That was really wonderful words that you wrote , I can tell you are very humble . As Kazari wishes for herself , I wish for her also . : P

  13. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her!

  14. Happy Birthday to Ryan! I am sue that you will find the perfect present!
    As kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  15. As you wish for yourself, so do I wish for you also!

    Lovely wish, Kazari!

  16. This was so sweet! What a lovely post. As kazari wishes for herself, so do I wish for her also.

  17. So sweet! As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  18. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well. I hope you find something just right!

  19. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!!!

  20. What a sweet, lovely wish! As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also. 🙂

Leave a Reply

