A Significant Investment

Sometimes Jamie’s Wish Prompts make me squirm uncomfortably.  This week was one of those.

What do I wish to invest in?

It shouldn’t be tricky.  At first glance, I am fully invested, all my time and money, in raising the baby, keeping house and writing.  Probably in that order.

But, here’s my day so far:

fed the baby at midnight, 1.30, 2.30, 3.30, 6.30, got up, showered, said goodbye to ryan, did laundry, washed dishes, attempted to write with a cranky baby, went to mother’s group, picked up new (shortened!) jeans, changed a very wet baby, changed a very, um, soiled baby, got cranky about running out of wipes, realised i was cranky cos I hadn’t eaten yet, ate leftovers while holding cranky baby, found rego sticker for car, walked cranky baby to shop to buy more wipes, realised baby is cranky cos he didn’t sleep yet…

and the only thing I needed to do today was finish my uni assignment.  And start it, too.

Now it’s 3.15 and if I don’t start cooking dinner soon, cooking will coincide with the babies regularly-scheduled-cranky-time, and there has been no writing yet.

So when I look at my big investments (baby, house, writing) I see that actually, they need to shuffle.  Writing before housework, I think.  And perhaps what the baby and I really need is a little more routine.  We’ve prided ourselves on being go-with-the-flow, laid back parents, and it’s been great.  But now the baby is a little more awake and alert, getting him to sleep wherever I am is just not so easy.

So I’m wishing to invest in a little more writing, a little more routine and a little more writing routine.  And if anyone can find a way to invest in more sleep, I’d happily be part of that, too : )

What are you wishing for this week?

13 responses to “A Significant Investment

  1. As Kazari wishes for herself I so lovingly wish this for her also.

    I have had 3 beautiful children ..and a beautiful granddaughter …

    And I always …always did what you have done and pretty much devoted everything to going with the flow and meeting the baby’s needs …until like you I started to introduce a little routine as well…for a sanity boost.

    Nobody will remember you for your clean floors …if the assignment is you time …then do do do put that before the housework! xxx

  2. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  3. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. As a mother of one and a grandmother of two I say don’t worry about the housework. When my son was little my house came last. Now that he is grown I have a really clean house but I often think about the days when the dishes were piled up and the house was a mess but we were having fun in the tents in the living room. This weekend my grandsons visited and the dishes were piled up again and I loved every minute of it. Routine does help but make very sure you are also a priority.

  4. As Kazari wishes for herself I wish this for her also!!!

  5. As Kazari wishes for herself I so lovingly wish this for her also!
    Oh hon…having five of my own…this is something I totally understand. Sending hugs and remember to stop and breathe! I have spent the last couple months creating a class about just this balancing the creative soul with our daily lives. I will have to say that my life is no longer go with the flow..well at least not when I want to get something done LOL! Hang in there hon and know that you are not alone!
    Hugs, Sarah

  6. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    Oh sweetie … remember nothing stays the same! I am laughing though over the bit about eating leftovers … I still find myself cramming pb&j crusts into my mouth like a wolf woman – sometimes its all I can do!

    I am a routine person, so I may be biased here, but it does seem children do well with a known structure and then you can prioritize your time within that. Even when my daughter stopped taking naps, she knew there is “quiet time” when we each do our thing. And now we both look forwarded to it!

  7. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. Rountine sounds wonderful, but I am reliable informed that I was one of those babies who never slept, so I can’t help you with any of those tips!

  8. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. I wish that you find that writing time.

  9. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. I second and third everyone here, the housework can wait a bit, find the balance between baby and writing and the rest will flow.

  10. Fringe Collective Artistic Studios

    Babies are the best investment. Huge returns!!!

    As you wish for self, I wish for you also.

  11. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  12. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    I just love your writing. Reading this post, I am right there with you, going through your day. How beautiful to be so clear on your investments and to realize a shift in their priority level is in order.

    I’m sending you good vibes for your assignment!

    hugs,

    Jamie

  13. Oh I love your honesty and your writing. I wonder how that assignment faired? I despair of housework – why is there so much of it? And I am not a finicky person. The balance of routine and spontaneity – a life long challenge. I love the shift in priorities. A good one.

Leave a Reply

