A vacation from myself

Jamie’s wish prompt for this week caught me by surprise:

‘What do you wish to take a break from?’

I spend a lot of time wishing to add more to my life – more climbing, more healthy food, more music, more travel.  I don’t often think about things I want a break from.  A break from the housework would be nice, of course, or the midnight feeds, or the endless paperwork that a new person seems to require.  But all those things are part of my bigger picture, my life, and I don’t want to wish that away.

But there’s a side effect to being a Mum that could do without.  All of a sudden I’m making serious decisions (like bedtime!) for another individual, and there’s more on my plate.  I’m spending more and more time being serious.

I can be serious if I have to, but I don’t want it to become a habit.  Whimsy is important to me, as is Silly.

So this week I’d wish to take a break from serious and embrace more silliness and whimsy.

I think I might go watch Alice in Wonderland.

What do you wish for a break from?

17 responses to “A vacation from myself

  1. I gotta go see Alice in Wonderland! When my kids were little, I had so much fun embracing whimsy and fun! It’s sort of like getting over oneself, isn’t it?

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  2. curiouser and curiouser 🙂
    may your wishes come true
    may seriousness turn to silliness
    whimsy be your guide

  3. As you wish for yourself I so loving wish this for you also.

    I love love Alice in Wonderland an whimsy myself!

  4. Oh I love this – we ALL need to learn to be more playful!

    As Kazari playfully wishes for herself, so I wish for her too!

  5. “Whimsy is important to me, as is Silly.”

    thank you so for writing these words…words we all need to remember…i can oh so relate and it saddens me when i have let days go by with no childlike mind coming in to play…it is not always easy finding such balance when one becomes a mama…slowly somehow that whimsy can be put aside…though it never should be…l♥♥♥ve…as Kazari wishes for herself so I wish for her and all of us to remember her words and bring forth our sillyness self~

  6. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for also. I think this is a wonderful wish. May we all remember our silly self and keep whimsy in our lives. Whimsy, what a wonderful word.

  7. As you wish so I wish for you! Be silly!

  8. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  9. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. What a wonderful wish, we could all do with a bit of silly and whimsy in our lives. May it be so.

  10. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    I am reminded of this line from Oscar Wilde: “Life is far too important a thing to talk seriously about.”

    yes, I cast my vote for whimsy and play!

  11. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  12. Oh you’ve hit the nail on the head! I definitely could use more whimsy and silliness – maybe that would erase my furrowed brows?

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  13. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!
    Whoot Let Fly with the silliness!! Yup ..got to have that in your life!! Here is to being silly and down the rabbit hole for you girl!!
    Hugs, Sarah

  14. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish in silliness too! Here’s to the WiLlyniLly. :p

    Wishing you Much Joy and Nonsense!
    Molly

  15. Let’s all go see Alice….and enjoy the nonsense.
    As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  16. I am seeing a trend in so many woman who want to bring in more silliness in their lives. It feels so good to play! Have fun discovering how you get zesty. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  17. This pretty much made my day!!! As you wish for yourself to be silly, so do I! (And I hope that as I begin my adventure into motherhood that I as well continue in the silly…) You speak to my soul!!!

Leave a Reply

