Paying attention

A couple of nights ago, I felt completely drained.  It had been a busy day sorting out some lingering baby paperwork, look at childcare options for next year, gardening, cleaning and making a yummy dinner.  But as the evening curled in around me, I’d realised something was missing.  I hadn’t done any climbing, any blogging or writing.

Just home stuff.

There’s nothing wrong with home stuff.  I get a kick out of having a clean kitchen, and I get a lot of satisfaction cooking for my family.  But these things don’t energise me or light me up.

I’d left out the big stuff.

I have goals for this year beyond raising a happy, healthy baby.  They aren’t big, but they are the connection between Kazari-the-mum and Kazari-before.  They are the things that make my heart sing.  Writing, cooking with care and attention (not just to get dinner on the table) and climbing are the things I love to do.  And I forgot.

So.

When Jamie asks ‘What do you wish to pay attention to?” my answer is simple.  I wish to pay attention to my other goals.  They don’t get attended to every day, but I need to keep them in sight so they don’t get neglected.

What do you need to pay attention to?

19 responses to “Paying attention

  1. Hi Kazari – I truly do wish that you are able to make time for all of your goals – I’m trying to do that too and it is hard enough for me and I don’t even have a child! (Just a very needy cat ;->).

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  2. Very important thoughts! It’s this daily routine that leads mothers more and more away from the real goals in life.

    So as Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also!
    Good luck! 🙂

  3. As Kazari wishes for herself, I so lovingly wish this for her also …Happy Climbing!!

  4. Kazari,
    I am so happy you have a little one! I am happier you recognize what you need for yourself, while being a Mother. As Kazari wishes for herself, i wish for her also!

  5. It can be so easy to forget those things because of the demands raising a family puts upon us. But I do hope that you find a way to devote more time and attention to them.

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  6. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. It is so wonderful that you already know how important it is to remember your goals and what makes Kazari unique and special. Enjoy each special moment at this time of your life.

  7. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. May the experience be magical. ((hugs))

  8. ~always rememeber who you are…we need not forget because we carry a mama title…as you give an abundance of l♥ve and nourishment to your family may you always take a moment in the day to strive for yourself too…as Kazari wishes for herself so i wish for her too…brightest blessings~

  9. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also!

    Very wise and I hear you! I am trying to catch up on the stuff I have neglected as well that makes me feel more like me. All the best!

  10. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  11. Pay attention; don’t forget who YOU are!

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so do I also wish for her with all my heart!

  12. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  13. As Kazari wishes for herself, I so wish for her as well.

  14. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  15. I would imagine that having a new little one around would take a lot of energy. But, like you said, keeping sight of your personal goals is what is going nourish you completely. As Kazari wishes for herself, so do I wish for her also

  16. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. keeping goals in sights is vital for me too.

  17. I can relate to your posting today! When my kids were babies, people would say “little kids, little problems. Big kids, big problems”. Now that mine are older, I finally see what they were talking about. Some days my kids take up all of my energy and I forget to honor myself. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you too.

  18. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.
    May you pay attention to nuturing yourself as well as your family.

  19. Hi Kazari – very nicely put. I understand your struggle to pay attention to all your goals…and I don’t even have a baby tugging for my attention.

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

Leave a Reply

