The Escape Key

Everybody gets the blues some times.  Everybody has hard days.  So we learn what we need to recover ourselves.  It doesn’t matter if you call it grounding or centring or pampering or spoiling.  There should be something you do to bring you back to yourself and your joy.

I have a list of things that make me feel better:  ice coffee, 12 hours sleep, The Vicar of Dibley, a chat with my sisters.  But when things get really rough I have one commandment:

Go bush.

This has nothing to do with US Presidential elections.  It’s about being where you can’t hear the traffic, or see a human construction.  It’s about getting out of the built environment, and into the world that exists regardless of humans.  Hearing birds and wind, smelling trees and earth, seeing sky and rocks and life.

Jamie asked this week what we wish to make time for. I wish to make more time to go bush, to get out of this little city and back to myself.

Where do you go?

8 responses to “The Escape Key

  1. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.
    I hope you make lots and lots of time to go bush. I love to go to the ocean but since that is not very close I go to the lake and sit by the water’s edge. Just being by water is special to me.

  2. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  3. I love to be out in the back country – no phones, no lights no motor cars! Besides creating – I wish to be in the back country (or bush) more, too!

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    P.S. I’m glad to see I wasn’t the absolute last to post my wish! Happy Thursday.

  4. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.
    I’m also feeling like I haven’t “gone bush” enough lately and am in need of a break. Hope yours comes soon!

  5. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  6. It works for me too. There’s something special about being able to hear the sounds of nature. Great wish.

  7. by the water, beach or lake

  8. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

Leave a Reply

