Peace on earth

I am writing at the kitchen table, with the baby asleep in the pram next to me.  Outside it is sunny, and my washing is drying in the wind.  The baby has been asleep long enough for me to feel very productive this morning.  Washing and blogging and reading, oh my!

There’s a very long list of the stuff I HAVEN’T yet achieved this morning, but that’s ok.  This list can wait.  I am in contemplation mode.  Jamie has asked this week, ‘Where do you wish to make a difference?‘ and that has prompted some serious thoughts.  How can I make a difference anywhere, when I’m home with the baby? I haven’t even done the dishes.

Of course, the question is also the answer.  I heard a military chaplain speak once about making peace through the world, in our country and in our homes.  We need to start with our homes and our own selves, first.

So the baby and I are working to make this house a peaceful home.  A home that hugs us.  Then maybe we can spread some of that around.

12 responses to “Peace on earth

  1. ~sound like you are off in the right direction…simple sweet words to remind each of…”We need to start with our homes and our own selves, first” if we neglect that then who is left to pick it all up…no one but ourselves…may you find moments throughoutthe day to nuture yourself and your family…as Kazari wishes fo rherself so I wish for her too…brightest blessings~

  2. By showing your little one how to nurture and care for yourself, peace will extend out into the world as baby ventures out. A baby is an act of ultimate hope, thank you for that gift. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you too.

  3. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  4. Beautiful! As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  5. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also. I love the image of you and the baby working together to create a peaceful home. Beautiful words and a beautiful wish.

  6. As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also. Your blog post reminds me of one of my favourite quotes about peace “There is no way to peace. Peace is the way.”

  7. Have a wonderful day with your little one:)
    As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  8. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. Peace is the way, perfect!

  9. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  10. Ah Kazari, what a lucky baby you have! A peaceful home is such a beautiful thing. I’m sure you’re already achieving this in your life. As Kazari wishes for herself, so do I lovingly wish for her as well.

    Thank you for your lovely comment on my age, I am, and that’s a photo taken in the last 10 months!

  11. Being a mother is THE MOST IMPORTANT JOB in all the world — raising children who are smart and kind makes a HUGE difference.

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so do I wish for her also!

  12. As Kazari wishes for herself so I wish for her too! Thank you so much for the gentle reminder of why I am a stay at home mom. I create a space that hugs me and my family too. Bless you on your journey…

Leave a Reply

