There and back again

We are back from our whirl-wind family visit, and I don’t think I’ve ever been quite so relieved to be home.

While we were away, the baby turned six weeks old.  This is a good landmark – he smiles at people now, and is sleeping for longer and longer.  He has grown out of the ‘new-born’ size nappies, which is kind of shocking.

Six weeks also marks the point where the doctors say I can start climbing again.

I’ve gotta say, I’m a little bit scared.  My body feels like it’s back to normal, but I haven’t lifted anything heavier than a full laundry basket in months.  All of my climbing callusses are long gone, and my fingernails have not been this long and beautiful since, well, ever.

On the other hand, this is a spectacular challenge.  Whatever climbing fitness I’ve had is long gone, but the technique should still be there.  Whatever fears I once had about climbing, I faced a much bigger physical challenge giving birth.

Tonight I’m going back to the climbing gym for the first time, a little nervous, a little excited.

Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

