Stretched until I went “Ping”!

On Wednesday I wrote about what I wish to stretch.  But sometimes I think the universe isn’t listening, or maybe it’s natural language is farsi or tagalog or something that sounds quite different to English.  Because I think the universe perked up and said, “She wants to stretch?  Let’s see how many different directions we can pull!”

Here’s what’s happened so far.  We were planning on moving into our new home over three weekends, but now we will only have one.  Next weekend.  And I haven’t started packing yet.  I realised how many things will need to be sorted (mail, phone line, electricity, fridge delivery, internet, boxes, inspections, cleaning) and had a minor melt-down.

On top of that, yesterday was perhaps the most exhausted day of my pregnancy so far.  I went to yoga to feel better, and had a different teacher who kept talking about ‘challenging ourselves’ while pregnant. I didn’t want challenge, I wanted nurture and rejuvenation.  I nearly cried.

Finally, I got home, and DID have a cry.  I didn’t have the fortitude to cook myself dinner, so I ate something frozen, bought for just such an occasion.  At least I had the patience to zap it first.

Then  I realised I have a class assignment due on Tuesday.

Ping!

What do you do when you get stretched too far?

I started to feel better as soon as I’d had something healthy to eat, but the crying helped too.  (I don’t recommend crying while eating – it just gives you hiccups.)  After that, I put some good music on and did laundry.  That felt like a step in the right direction.  I made a list of all the things we needed to do, and ticked off ‘Laundry’.  By the time Ryan came home, all I needed was a hug and to crawl into bed.  And everything felt much, much better.

As someone who struggles with bad moods and worse, I’ve heard a lot of advice on how to feel better.  The short version:

  1. Eat well, sleep well, move well, and do all these things regularly.
  2. Cry if you need to, and write how you feel.
  3. Make a plan to feel better.

It all sounds so simple…

2 responses to “Stretched until I went “Ping”!

  1. Pingback: Living in luxury « On the end of my rope

  2. It sounds simple but it’s the feeling that gets in the way. Hope things smooth out for you in this transition.

Leave a Reply

