New Beginnings

Oooff.  My blog is a year old, and I am a year older.  It’s a new term at uni, I’ve started my new job, and best of all it’s Sunday evening, with a whole new week stretching ahead of me.

I haven’t been blogging much.  All the creativity that went into my writing has been turned inwards, to a point somewhere below my expanding bellybutton.

Instead of growing my blog, I’m growing a baby.

Writing has been difficult, because there’s so many thoughts wafting around me, I don’t know which ones to catch and pin down.  I don’t know which words I want out here, in the interwebs, and I don’t know which ones I want to save for later.

So here’s some random thoughts:

Pregnancy is free fall.  I don’t know if I’m going to be really hungry today, or if every food smell is going to make me green.  I don’t know if I’ll be tired and teary, or energetic and wishing I could climb.  Every day my body does something new and different, and I don’t have any say about any of it.  I’m not complaining.  It’s kind of awe inducing.  As Jen said recently, unknowing is our natural state, and right now my entire body is unknown to me.  Not to mention the tiny body inside me, swimming summersaults.

Pregnancy pulls your family to you.  My mum calls a lot more.  Today I had a call from a cousin I usually only see at Christmas.  My sisters ask crazy questions.  My god mother sent me a beautiful maternity top.  It’s made me the centre of attention in a very physical way.  Everybody shares advice, stories, experience.  I suspect this will only increase as my tummy grows.  Like all the physical changes, I’m learning to roll with it.

So my life is sprouting in new and interesting ways. Oh, and the strawberries are sprouting too.  Some of them.  The rest are either dormant, or well…

Wish me better luck with rest of my new beginnings : )

4 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. happy blog birthday

    how timely to be celebrating new life within as well
    congratulations

  2. Congratulations. You are questing indeed.

  3. Pingback: My Mondo Beyondo… « On the end of my rope

Leave a Reply

