Growing things

Somewhere on the list, there is something about growing strawberries. I’ve tried, once or twice, only to be thwarted by heatwaves, snails or my own absent-mindedness.  My thumbs are generally black and blue, rather than green.

But Ryan got all enthusiastic this month… he came home from Bunnings with beans and mint and garlic and onions – all ready to plant in our raggedy collection of pots.  And enthusiasm is catching, so I ordered some strawberry plants…

Diggers is an awesome Australian company.  They sell seeds and plants through miraculous catalogues, focussing on heirloom and non-commercial varieties of fruits, vegetables and flowers.  We don’t even have a garden of our own, but I still get the catalogues.  So that’s where the strawberries are coming from…

To my North American friends – are you confused yet?  It is Autumn here.  And yes, we are weird.  But this is the right time to plant many fruits and veggies in Australia.  The wetter (hopefully) winters will give the plants a chance to adjust and bed in, ready to come out fruiting in spring!

Anyway, I saw that Genie was hosting this weeks wishcasting, and the wish is “What do you wish to find on your doorstep?”

I am wish and waiting for my strawberries.

Any day now!

7 responses to “Growing things

  1. May your doorstep and your table be heaped with strawberries and an abundance of goodness from the soil!

    As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  2. It will be strawberry season here soon. The kids and I will get in the car, go and pick, and toss caps out the window all the way home, stained and sated. I hope you get to enjoy a bounty. (Still haven’t posted that obfuscation poem…so many on deck waiting.)

  3. um, pardon my ignorance, but what the heck is an heirloom fruit/vegetable?

  4. oops, sorry kel.
    Once upon a time, there was a lot more variety of fruits and veggies grown. Each village would have it’s own variety of tomatoes, (or several), and fruit trees different to everyone else’s.
    Through industrialisation and globalisation, we’ve lost a lot of that variety. If we don’t keep growing them, we’ll lose whole species. Those ‘old-fashioned’ varieties that haven’t been useful in commercial market gardens are often referred to as heirloom varieties.

  5. armloads, truckloads, boatloads full of strawberries! As Kasari wishes for herself, so do I wish for her.

  6. Wishing you strawberries.

    I visited an heirloom nursery down in Victoria on the weekend – strawberry plants in tubs near the front door – very inspirational.

  7. Hello

    I’m sorry that I have not visit you back, but, I have bean away.

    Strawberry on the doorstep that would be like heaven. I want sunshine and a bag full of free time to create and peace on earth and a smile on every face, and ofcouse strawberry and ice-cream!

Leave a Reply

