A quick airport wish

I’m sitting in Melbourne Airport, and it’s disturbingly early.  I’ve never done an airport post before!  I asked my travelling companions what they would wish to transform

Constant Frequent Flyer said the iphone and it’s silly expensive data plans.  He really wants one, but can’t get one through work.  We then had a very joyful gadget-geek discussion on the pros and cons of different crackberry style phones.

When I asked Ryan, he said he was pretty happy.  He couldn’t think of anything to transform.  Bless.  But then, when I think about it, I’m pretty happy to.

So I’d like to wish for a little more airport love.  Going through airport security makes me wonder what the world would look like with a little more trust and a little less suspicion.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand the need for security.  I just wish we could dispense with the measures that only improve our ‘perception of safety’. 

Can you imagine an airport full of love?  Where people help each other with their luggage.  Where a long queue is seen as an opportunity to relax and talk, not an inconvenience.  Where security guards took their job seriously, but still managed to smile.  And nobody expected a single mother to carry her child, the car seat and her carry-on all at once.

A little acoustic music would be awesome, too.  Maybe they should add busking spots like they do in the london tube corridors.

So here’s my crazy silly wish.  I wish our airports could be transformed by love.

12 responses to “A quick airport wish

  1. Sounds great to me. I might just go to hang around. Have a great flight!

  2. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    I think this is a wonderful wish actually. We can start with airports-and expand from there.

  3. A wonderful wish! I have travelled a lot this past year, across the pond and back. One sight that made me ask the question ‘what has the world come to?’ ~ seeing two police officers strutting around Gatwick Airport in the middle of the night, sporting semi-automatic assault rifles! Gah …

    I love your wish … airport love!

  4. As kazari wishes for herself, so I wish also!

    Here’s to airport love. 🙂

  5. As Kazari wishes for herself and airports, so I wish also.

    You know, this wish actually brought tears to my eyes. I guess I really believe in the transformational power of love. The next time I go to the airport, I promise to be a part of making your wish come true.

    PS As Constant Frequent Flyer wishes for the iPhone, so I wish also.

  6. As Kazari wishes for herself and airports, so I wish also.

  7. As Kazari wishes for herself and others, so I wish also.

    What a wonderful wish! Just think how that airport love could spread around the world!

  8. Ah, memories of sitting in Melbourne airport. This is a good wish Kazari.

    As Kazari wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

    Bright Blessings.

  9. wish you could play a meme when you get back from your hiking holiday

    well you’ve just been tagged, so you can

    7 things…

  10. Maybe if they didn’t throw away my daughter’s mango tea and my sunblock I could send out a little more airport love.

    I flew in and out of Tel Aviv countless times in days of yore and never once did I have to take off my shoes. We would have an interview with my suitcase in front of the inspector. I mocked that then, but now I think that would be a better way to go than having grown-ups taking off their belts in public.

    Airport Love. It should be so natural since generally when we fly it’s for a good reason. I guess there’s as much love in the airport as there is in the world.

  11. Looks like my earlier comment never made it. I just love your airport love wish! 🙂 As Kazari wishes for herself and others, so I wish also.

    BTW: You can pick up your award at my blog. 😉

  12. As Kazari wishes for herself and airports, I wish that to

Leave a Reply

