A wish for commitment

Last night we went climbing and it was awesome.  It was humid and sweaty and slippy in the gym, and the chalk turned to goo on your hands by the third hold.  Ick.  But I did a climb that really pushed me.

It’s an easy route with just one move that I thought was impossible.  It was a chimney move  from a  juggy hold tucked into one corner, and moving my weight all the way across the panel, to a jug in the opposite corner.  No hand holds in between.  Only one foothold, smack bang in the middle.  What I had to do was get my foot up, and move my weight out over the foothold.  Then fall across to the other side, hoping to grab the jug, or at least get my balance against the wall.

It took me a couple of minutes to get the nerve to fall.  It wasn’t a particularly cosy corner, and it was balancy trying to find the best placement for my foot.  But when I finally committed and pushed across, it didn’t feel scary.  It was frustrating, because my sweaty palms just slid straight off the wall and I swung out.  And I realised there was no way I could reach the jug.  I was going to have to chimney between my left foot and my hands, and somehow work my way up.  On the next try, I stuck it.  But I was completely stuck!  Braced between my left foot on one wall, and both hands on the other, Kate said I was in perfect warrior pose.  I giggled and nearly fell, but I couldn’t figure out what to do next.

Maybe next week. 

This week I’m branching out into the unknown with Leonie’s e-course.  I don’t usually think of myself as an artist, so it really is pushing into the unknown.  I’m not scared about falling.  But I am scared I won’t really commit.  I’m much better at starting things than I am at following through – like finishing that climb.  So my big Wednesday wish, is for commitment to getting all I can out of this new creativity kick. 

Oh, and I want to get that climb.

5 responses to “A wish for commitment

  1. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish also.

    You can do it!

  2. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    Climb on up on that creativity mountain! You’ll do it. (I’m doing Leonie’s circle too and have the same and other concerns.)

  3. as kazari wishes for herself, so i wish for her also.

    kazari, i hear you! i am also in leonie’s circle, so let’s keep each other committed! 🙂

  4. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  5. As Kazari wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

Leave a Reply

