Happy New Year!

Welcome to January!

I hope you got to celebrate the end of the year with fun friends and people you love.  My night was lovely and filled with friendship.  I’ve looked over my list and found some things to cross off – it feels good!  I’m also amazed at the number of things on the list that I’m not so excited about any more.  But that’s ok.  I have a feeling there are some I’ll come back to later on.

I did some dreamboarding with friends on Tuesday.  I thought I was going to make a picture about gathering a tribe, but when it was finished, I realised it was more than that.  It’s about being more authentically me, and speaking my truth.  Finding people to share it with is part of this, but not the whole thing.  I’m beginning to think it’s more about authentic communication – because, after all, isn’t that how you gather a tribe anyway?

3 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. you had me at ‘webs of meaning’.

    i’ve stumbled over from ordinary courage. i have never found words that describe my thinking like ‘webs of meaning’. my mind automatically connects EVERYTHING i think into a story or comparison with natural science. it’s great for teaching (although i’m not a teacher). i didn’t realize it was a superpower. i just thought i annoyed people:) thanks!

    • Thankyou! I’m glad you liked it. It’s taken me ages to find a name for it – ‘connection’ doesn’t quite get it.

  2. I wonder what we all need to go through in order to get to “authentic communication”? Because when I was younger, I thought I was communicating with friends, but I realize now that so much of it was about wanting to be liked. Now, not so much. My tribe may be small, but it’s a heck of a tribe. I think we may have invented fire (or the verbal equivalent)!

Leave a Reply

