Blogging courageous

I won a book!  From Laura-Jane at Whimfield!  And here’s the best bit, she said I was gutsy.

I don’t think of myself as a gutsy person.  I would tell you that I’m scared of everything,  so every day I do things that scare me.  In the meantime, I want to share a lot of bravery that the internet has thrown my way.

Lets start with Glenda Watson Hyatt, of the Do it yourself blog.  Glenda’s lives a life that really takes courage – she goes out into the world everyday, a world that isn’t always ready to take her in.  And her blog lets her participate on her own terms.

Bravery doesn’t always have to be big.  As piglet once said, “I wasn’t brave, it’s just what happened when I panicked.”  Erin at Woman in the Window has just written about her son learning to be scared and brave at the same time.  I wanted to do a happy dance when I read this.

Sometimes it requires courage just to choose your life.  Bigg’s been blogging for a while, and the last thing life threw at him was cancer.  He doesn’t think he’s brave – but with every post, I am blown away by the audacity of the life he’s living.  (If you’re going to click through, be aware – there’s explicit well, explicit everything really)

I haven’t made this list because I want to compare tragedies and adversity.  I don’t want to trivialise or lionise anyone.  The internet brought me these stories this week – it’s a theme I seemingly can’t avoid.  I want to show that bravery comes in many forms, at many times, and humanity seems to create situations that require it.  My final link speaks of courage in the face of man’s inhumanity to man.  Please go read Vestine’s story.  Please be brave enough to finish reading.  It tells of a story and a courage beyond my comprehension.  But I think it also shows the power of blogging.  Blogging gives us the chance to witness, to connect, and maybe to help.

5 responses to “Blogging courageous

  1. I like the concept of writing courageously. Thanks for getting me to expand my way of thinking about our words this morning.

  2. I came here because of your comment at Joanna’s site. It was right on. Thank you!

  3. Blogging truly is connecting us to the stories we need to share and read. Wonderful thought for a thoughtful Sunday.

  4. Oh thank you so much for linking to Vestine’s story! I so appreciate it:)

  5. Not a problem, maryam. I believe in the power of stories shared.

Leave a Reply

